The other night dear, while I lay sleeping

I dreamed I held you in my arms

Two years ago tonight, we said goodbye to one of our dearest, sweetest friends. She was in such bad shape at the end, she could barely hold herself up. Watching this tiny cat bravely face her end and still have little mews of encouragement for us …

We felt such anguish that night that we never imagined feeling joy again.

When I was young, my mother had the horrible responsibility of having to put down two beloved dogs. I never knew how much of her own pain she shielded her children from.

We have a video of Kali’s last night; it’s hard to watch, not just because of any emotional reason, but because it’s just dark. Lights off, music on; we were trying to comfort Kali, and ourselves, the night before we took her, finally, fatally, to the vet.

Tonight, we decided to give this song another layer of meaning, one that I hope will celebrate Kali and Julian both. I feel deeply sad that they never met, these two beautiful, clever creatures that we love so much. Julian is walking now, as you’ll see in these clips, and Jen and I are both convinced that Kali and Dubby both would have totally adored this little stumbler.

 

Julian is already deeply, deeply in love with Junie and Kirby, and one day, he’s going to have to say good-bye to them. That day, I’ll be in my mother’s shoes, teaching a young child how to deal with grief and pain. That might be the hardest thing I’ll ever have to do.

Leave a Reply

