100 books, so little Time

Via just about everywhere, Time’s top-rated English-language novels, from 1923 to now:

http://www.time.com/time/2005/100books/the_complete_list.html

I’m not going to bother debating the merits of any book on the list, nor will I lament the absense of a particular book or author. What I will do is list the books that I’ve read and those I’d like to read. Here goes, in Time’s order (that is, alphabetical by book title).

Books I’ve read:

All the King’s Men
The Assistant (want to re-read)
Beloved
The Big Sleep (read at least twice)
Catch-22 (want to re-read)
The Catcher in the Rye (twice)
A Clockwork Orange (twice)
Go Tell It on the Mountain (want to re-read)
The Grape of Wrath
Great Gatsby (twice)
Lolita
Lord of the Flies (twice)
The Lord of the Rings (twice)
Neuromancer (twice)
1984 (twice)
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (want to re-read)
Rabbit, Run
Ragtime
Red Harvest
Slaughterhouse-Five
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
The Sun Also Rises (twice)
To Kill a Mockingbird
Watchmen (twice)

So, 24% of the full list.

Books I want to read soonish:

An American Tragedy
Animal Farm (how is it possible I’ve never read this?)
The Berlin Stories
Call It Sleep
Deliverance
Portnoy’s Complaint

