Search the full text of books at Amazon

Amazon has announced a new feature on its site: You can now search the full text of books in its database. This is pretty cool, as Jeff Bezos, Amazon’s CEO, points out in a letter to customers. And it’s easy to use. All you do is enter your search term in the same search box you’d normally use to find an item at Amazon.

What I really like is how the feature highlights your search term on a PDF copy of the book’s page, as this example shows. By the way, I don’t recall ever having made bread in a tin can.

But I think the biggest surprise was this excerpt from <a href="”>. Surprise, because William Dietsch is my uncle, my father’s brother, and I never knew (or I’d forgotten) that he’d been profiled in such a book.

2 thoughts on “Search the full text of books at Amazon

Leave a Reply

