FreshDirect comes to my nabe!

FreshDirect is now in my neighborhood–well, parts of my neighborhood, anyway.

FreshDirect is an online grocery store that delivers to neighborhoods in New York City–rolling out first in select Manhattan neighborhoods and slowly expanding into the rest of Manhattan and the outer boroughs.

Turbanhead describes the experience of shopping in NYC groceries.

Sir Lunchalot describes the distribution center.

BusinessWeek explains the model.

When I order, I’ll report back.

2 thoughts on “FreshDirect comes to my nabe!

  1. FreshDirect in Park Slope – A FreshDirect truck HIT MY PARKED CAR on November 1st in Park Slope. An eye-witness saw it and left a note. (Their truck did not leave a note, ie. hit and run). I thought for sure they would do the right thing – afterall, not only did they hit my car, but they broke the law by leaving the scene, and, afterall, they;re the “good guys,” right, they deliver fresh foods… I was directed to the head of transportation, Bill Connelly. It took him 4 days to get back to me. He acted like they would be totally accomodating, but kept dragging his heels. FOUR WEEKS LATER, their insurance company tells me that FreshDirect truck drivers are denying they hit my car and denies my claim. I called the VP of transportation, John McTigue, who told me he would meet with his people and PROMISED to call me back by 5pm next day. No call. I left several messages for him – no call back. I have started a campaign, letting FreshDirect know about how we, as consumers (customers and potential customers) and community members feel about this type of business practice and that civic irresponsibility will not go unseen. I urge anyone reading this to PLEASE FAX to Mr. McTigue and Mr Connelly your response to their unconscionable behavior: FAX 718-928-1050. And to forward this to anyone you know who might be interested in helping my lone voice (AND THE $1800 IN DAMAGES) communicate to them our outrage. Any leads, info, articles, names of people I can contact is welcomed (Rgdancer1@aol.com).

  2. FreshDirect in Park Slope – A FreshDirect truck HIT MY PARKED CAR on November 1st in Park Slope. An eye-witness saw it and left a note. (Their truck did not leave a note, ie. hit and run). I thought for sure they would do the right thing – afterall, not only did they hit my car, but they broke the law by leaving the scene, and, afterall, they;re the “good guys,” right, they deliver fresh foods… I was directed to the head of transportation, Bill Connelly. It took him 4 days to get back to me. He acted like they would be totally accomodating, but kept dragging his heels. FOUR WEEKS LATER, their insurance company tells me that FreshDirect truck drivers are denying they hit my car and denies my claim. I called the VP of transportation, John McTigue, who told me he would meet with his people and PROMISED to call me back by 5pm next day. No call. I left several messages for him – no call back. I have started a campaign, letting FreshDirect know about how we, as consumers (customers and potential customers) and community members feel about this type of business practice and that civic irresponsibility will not go unseen. I urge anyone reading this to PLEASE FAX to Mr. McTigue and Mr Connelly your response to their unconscionable behavior: FAX 718-928-1050. And to forward this to anyone you know who might be interested in helping my lone voice (AND THE $1800 IN DAMAGES) communicate to them our outrage. Any leads, info, articles, names of people I can contact is welcomed (Rgdancer1@aol.com).

Leave a Reply

