amNewYork

amNewYork, a free commuter paper aimed at young professionals, has people out this morning (10/7) handing out a free preview, and Christ is it sloppy. Poorly written, and typos everywhere. The paper launches Friday, October 10, and I hope they have a copy desk in place by then.

But what really amuses me is the amNewYork manifesto. After running down the old saw–the WSJ is read by those who run the country, the Times by those who think they run the country, and the Washington Post by those who think they should run the country–amNewYork proclaims: “Well this newspaper, amNewYork, will be read by people who will be running the country by tonight’s pm.”

Whee! amNewYork will enable the proletariat to seize the means of production and finally stick to those damn bourgie WSJ readers.

[Links: Crain’s Chicago Business; Gothamist]

12 thoughts on “amNewYork

  1. I have never seen a newspaper that has many errors in English…and they want to reach the young readers who normally don’t read newspapers? What kind of an example.

    For example, the Monday 11/17 issue had an ad for their “CALSSIFIED ADS.” Last week, one of their advertisers was peddling “GED EQUIVILANCY.”

    As an Enhlish professor, and a former adman, this is terrible. They need to HIRE PROOFREADERS WHO KNOW ENGLISH!

  2. You obviously haven’t read amNewYork recently. It may not be the WSJ, but it was not intended to be. It is an excellent paper for busy professionals. The paper gives you information without forcing an opinion down your throat. It is superior to the biased rags, the Daily News and the New York Post. If there were problems with earlier prints of this paper, they should be given even more credit for correcting their mistakes and printing a quality paper for free.

    As for the ‘Enlish’ professor, maybe you SHOULD give up that day job.

  3. Indeed, this paper does a good job of hitting the top news stories and providing decent reading for a 30-40 minute subway ride. It’s not full of trashy tabloidish crap like some 25 and 50 cent papers on the stands in ny. Personally, I appreciate the effort a great deal.

  4. Script and Anthony make basically the same comment, which is that amNewYork hits all the major stories of the day, without the hyperbole and gossip-mongering of the Post and Daily News.

    Okay, I can respect that. However, I can still get the same news items, for free, by browsing Web news sites everyday. I still don’t see why I need or should want amNewYork.

  5. Hello,
    I would just like to say that Pitts wrote an amazing commentary last week. It was a tiny bit of how he feels with this country and our current situation but it touched every bit of what I feel. I have spoken about this with many of my colleagues and he couldn’t have expressed our feelings any better.
    To respond to some of the comments on this page… Dont read AM New York if you have issues with it. It is exactly what I need every morning. I can carry it without being weighed down and it gives me the top stories. I can get further information from various medias. I like the option to weed out all of the bullshit “so-called news” …Hey speaking of the Post!
    Thanks again Pitts, not many things make me smile at 7:30 in the morning.
    Sincerely,
    Tiffany Leigh
    p.s. enhlish???

  6. Hello, I agree with TIffany when she says “don’t read AM New York if you have issues with it”. Many people, such as myself, rely on this very convient newspaper. I can carry it with ease from subway to school and everything is broken down so that I get more information that I want without all the extra details. If I wanted to know all the details, then I’ll go on and get another paper. Since I don’t always have my money out or decide to spend it on something to eat before class, this paper is a very convient for me and everyone else who grab it on their way to work and school. This is my first semester in college, and I can also say this was the first year I have even read a newspaper this much. This is the most I have even read a newspaper period. It might be sad to say but its very much true. I do enjoy reading books however, but at my age I should know what is going on in my society and in the world that I live in. I do however read other newspapers for different purposes, but AM New York will always be my paper when I’m on the go. Just leave this paper alone, its not doing anyone any harm besides giving you something to talk about, therefore,its more popular then bad as some think. I will also like to add, yes at times (none that I’ve seen), they might have grammical errors, no one is perfect. The english professor even made a mistake. Shit, i know gramma aint my best thang niether. as a college student i really need to work on it.

  7. Hello, I agree with TIffany when she says “don’t read AM New York if you have issues with it”. Many people, such as myself, rely on this very convient newspaper. I can carry it with ease from subway to school and everything is broken down so that I get more information that I want without all the extra details. If I wanted to know all the details, then I’ll go on and get another paper. Since I don’t always have my money out or decide to spend it on something to eat before class, this paper is a very convient for me and everyone else who grab it on their way to work and school. This is my first semester in college, and I can also say this was the first year I have even read a newspaper this much. This is the most I have even read a newspaper period. It might be sad to say but its very much true. I do enjoy reading books however, but at my age I should know what is going on in my society and in the world that I live in. I do however read other newspapers for different purposes, but AM New York will always be my paper when I’m on the go. Just leave this paper alone, its not doing anyone any harm besides giving you something to talk about, therefore,its more popular then bad as some think. I will also like to add, yes at times (none that I’ve seen), they might have grammical errors, no one is perfect. The english professor even made a mistake. Shit, i know gramma aint my best thang niether. as a college student i really need to work on it.

  8. Good Morning amNewYork:

    Would like to know if it is at all possible to get a back issue of 6/9/05 edition somehow?

    I would appreciate a response. Thank You for your attention.

    Warm Regards,

    Maria Chisolm.

  9. Who got problems with am new york huh? This newspaper is perfect for us young people. end of story.full stop, period. This is the only newspaper you will see a young person reading oftentimes instead of the garbage and sensationalism that the Post and to a lesser extent the Daily News give. Its information is to the point without trying to caress you to one side.I love it, Its lightweight and it has up to the minute information and it doesn’t take forever to read. I dont have to sift and dig through the hoopalaa just to get the basic news.Keep on doing a good job AmNY.

Leave a Reply

