Tim Maroney

Teresa Nielsen Hayden reports the death of Tim Maroney, a man I once knew vaguely via the Warren Ellis Forum on DelphiForums. Tim used to post learned commentary about scientific news items, but the main reason I remember him is due to a chat session one night. Tim, Jessica Linker, and I were the only ones in chat, and I was freaking out a little about my impending thirtieth birthday.
Tim talked me back from the edge by assuring me that his 30s were, to that point, the best decade of his life. When I finally met Tim in person a couple of years after this late-night chat, he remembered neither me nor the conversation.
But that’s okay, because I’ll never forget.
There’s something strange about learning, via a weblog, of the death of a man I knew only on the Web anyway.

Leave a Reply

