Gypsy: What I Thought

By popular request, my “review.” Keep in mind, I’ve never seen a live performance of Gypsy, and I can’t remember ever seeing the movie version. I therefore have nothing to compare this production to. That in mind, I enjoyed it. I thought Bernadette Peters was really good as Mama Rose, and I liked the rest of the cast as well. I thought the first act suffered from slow pacing, so I was glad to see the second act pick up the beat a little. Kevin and Melissa seemed to enjoy the show as well.
Huzzah! I’ve seen a Broadway musical…actually on Broadway! Those poor schmucks back in Indiana will have to wait for the touring version with Georgia Engel.

Leave a Reply

