How’s it goin’ Frood-dude?

About a week ago, I was at Ace Bar, on Fifth St, between Aves A and B. A number of my friends happen to be visiting that weekend, independently of each other, and we planned this giant drinkup at Ace tonight, to celebrate.

I was chatting with one of the visitors, Molly, and her friend. They asked me whether Keanu Reeves had played Bill or Ted. Neither of them could remember. I said, “I have no idea. But boy, I’m looking forward to the new Matrix movie.”

They both laughed and said, “Yeah, it looks great!” And they carried on with their argument.

Then, one of Molly’s friends got really excited. “I’m going to have him sign my chest! Ohmygod! I’m gonna have him sign my chest!”

This puzzled me.

“Who’s going to sign her chest? Who’s the lucky guy?”

“Keanu.”

Incredulously, I said, “Keanu? He’s here?!”

“Yeah, he’s playing pool in the back room.”

“You’re fucking with me.”

“No, man. He’s here.”

So, I grabbed my friend Kira and said, “I wanna see Keanu.”

Kira says, “What?! I don’t want to see him. I don’t care about that crap. Just go back there!”

“Look, I’m sorry, but I can’t go back there alone.”

So Kira reluctantly agreed to join me. I still don’t know why I needed moral support to catch a glimpse of a goofball actor, but for some reason, maybe the massive quantities of alcohol I’d had, I did.

Yep. Keanu was playing pool. Yep, it was pretty clearly Keanu.

Molly’s friend came back a bit later. He’d signed the back of her shirt. “Ohmygod! I totally walked up to him and I said, ‘I’m really really sorry to ask you this. My boyfriend loves your movies and I’m a big fan too. Will you sign my shirt?'”

I walked away and talked to other people around the table. I walked back, fifteen minutes later. The friend was still talking about Keanu. I went to the bar for another beer. I came back. Still Keanu. I walked away and chat and come back a few minutes later. Yep, Keanu.

I love this city, but it still surprises me when shit like this happens.

