D-trainin’

Another train story.

Monday afternoon, I was riding the D train down to the west side of Manhattan. Directly across from me, I saw two men sitting side by side, dressed almost identically. They wore identical pinstriped suits, one in gray, the other in blue. One man’s knee rested against the other’s and they conversed quietly.

Three teenaged girls entered the train and sat beside me. They talked among themselves–nothing obnoxious or loud or particularly noticable, really. After they’d been on the train about fifteen minutes, though, I heard one of the guys across from me speak to the girl immediately to my left: “If you’ve got something to say, say it so we can all hear.”

She paused for a moment and said, “We weren’t even talking about you.”

He said something I couldn’t hear and then she responded, “It’s not all about you, you know.”

“You were staring,” he said.

I think at this point, the other guy urged the first guy to let it go. They whispered to each other, and I heard the angry guy say, “But……and she……but they…..”

We pulled in to the next station. The men were still discussing the girls, and I heard one girl say, “We’re getting off here, right!” It wasn’t a question. They left the train, and I made sure not to make eye contact with the guys across from me.

Leave a Reply

